Nigeria loses out of UN Human Rights Council After failing to secure needed votes. According to Gist report, Nigeria secured only three votes which was far below the recommended votes required to secure a seat in the UN Human Rights Council (UNHRC).

During the election four African countries secure seats on the council. Ghana and Burundi were voted in as new members with 179 and 168 votes respectively, while Malawi (182 votes) and Côte d’Ivoire (181 votes) were reelected for a second term.

The Council is the UN’s premier rights body tasked with the responsibility of upholding and advancing fundamental freedoms globally. It was created in 2006 and consists of 47 member States, elected via secret ballot by the majority of General Assembly members.

The election returned 15 member countries which include Albania, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burundi, China, Côte d’Ivoire, Cuba, Dominican Republic, France, Ghana, Indonesia, Japan, Kuwait, Malawi, and the Netherlands. They will be serving for three years, beginning 1 January 2024.

The 15 returned countries will join 32 others which include including Algeria, Argentina, Bangladesh, Belgium, Benin, Cameroon, Chile, Costa Rica, Eritrea, Finland, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Honduras, India, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Maldives, Montenegro, Morocco, Paraguay, Qatar, Romania, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, United Arab Emirates, United States of America, and Viet Nam to run the council.

Follow us on social media

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap