Nigeria first World Cup appearance was the 1994 edition. Since then the team has qualified for six of the last eight FIFA World Cups, missing only the 2006 and 2022 editions.

And the greatest achievement of Nigeria in the world tournaments has been the advancing of the Super Eagle from the group stage three times (1994, 1998 and 2014), getting knocked out in the round of 16 all three times.

As the Africa Zone (CAF) qualifiers for the 26 FIFA World Cup begin on 13 November 2023 and end in November 2025, nine African teams will participate in the final phase of the 2026 World Cup.

The African qualifiers will be played across two rounds. The first will be contested in the form of a group stage, with nine groups of six teams each. Each team will play two matches, home and away, against each of their opponents. The top finisher in each group will qualify for World Cup 26.

The second round will pit the four best runners-up in two one-off semi-finals, followed by a final. The winner of this second round will participate in the FIFA Play-off Tournament.

Africa Nations FIFA World Cup appearances Table ;

8 – Cameroon

6 – Morocco

6 – Nigeria

6 – Tunisia

4 – Ghana

4 – Algeria

3 – Senegal

3 – Egypt

3 – South Africa

3 – Côte d’Ivoire

1 – DR Congo (under the banner of Zaire)

1 – Angola

1 – Togo

Follow us on social media

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap